I’m Going To TeachFest!

An email I’d been anxiously hoping for arrived in my inbox on Friday night.

learnzillion_800_by_160Dear Kyle,

Congratulations! 

We are delighted to inform you that you have been selected to join LearnZillion’s 2014 Dream Team!

It was longer than that, of course, but all I really needed to read was the first line.  I’m one of 200 teachers selected from over 4000 applications to this year’s LearnZillion Dream Team, which means I’m headed to TeachFest, in New Orleans, LA!

So I know most of you are probably wondering what this means.  I’m going to let the official TeachFest website do the explaining for me.

teachfest_800_by_200What is TeachFest?

TeachFest is an event that celebrates great teaching and kicks off a powerful collaborative learning experience for teachers. TeachFest brings together amazing teachers, coaches, and school leaders, and provides the time, resources, and community necessary to collaborate, learn, and create.

What is the Dream Team?

The Dream Team is a group of talented teachers from around the country who are selected to participate in TeachFest. They represent district, charter, and private schools, and offer a wealth of experiences and backgrounds. This group is united in their goal to develop themselves and each other, through a collaborative process of creating, curating, and sharing high-quality resources.

Needless to say, I’m pretty amped up about it.  I don’t have many details other than that.  I know the dates, I know the city.  Webinar next week to become more informed.  It gives me an excuse to buy a new computer, because that’s a mandatory thing to bring.

You know what I’m most excited about?  The tagline of TeachFest is Scale Your Impact.  That’s been my issue this year.  I’ve really been feeling like it’s time for my voice to get louder, but I just didn’t know how.  This could be it.

2 thoughts on “I’m Going To TeachFest!

Leave a Reply

